Surveillance TB testing areas in Great Britain

Cattle herds in Great Britain are routinely tested for TB. The frequency of surveillance testing differs between England, Wales and Scotland, depending on the level of disease. 


In England, cattle herds in the Low Risk Area (LRA) are routinely tested every four years.

Cattle herds in the High Risk Area (HRA) are subject to six-monthly surveillance testing by default, unless they satisfy certain conditions to remain on annual surveillance testing (so called ‘earned recognition’). Read the guidance on six-monthly testing in the HRA to find out more.

In the Edge Area, cattle herds in higher incidence parts are routinely tested every six-months. Herds in lower incidence parts are tested annually, supplemented by radial testing around TB breakdowns with lesion and/or culture positive animals.

England flag - TB hub


In Wales, all cattle herds are subject to annual surveillance testing, except for herds in the Intensive Action Area (IAA) where six-monthly testing is in place.

Wales Flag - Bovine TB


Although Scotland is officially TB free, cattle herds are subject to risk based surveillance testing. Cattle herds eligible for surveillance testing are tested every four years. 

Scotland flag - Bovine TB
Herd of cows in the summertime - Bovine TB